Results | Info-feed | Closing ceremony
The official hotline of the World Championships is available: +36/1-90-70-500

Upcoming events

Minute by minute

Team USA won in men's 4x100m medley relay

Team USA won in women's 4x100m medley relay

HOSSZÚ Katinka (HUN) won in women's 400m IM

LACOURT Camille (FRA) won in men's 50m backstroke

SJOSTROM Sarah (SWE) won in women's 50m freestyle

KALISZ Chase (USA) won in men's 400m IM

KING Lilly (USA) won in women's 50m breaststroke

Men's High diving results: 1. Steve Lo Bue (USA) 397.15 2. Michal Navratil (CZE) 390.90 3. Alessandro De Rose (ITA) 379.65

LEDECKY Katie (USA) won in women's 800m freestyle

SJOSTROM Sarah (SWE) just broke the World Record in women's 50m freestyle semi-final



Tickets are available for more than 200 events! Get yours and don't miss your favourite athlets competing!

Buy a ticket


22 ° 10 km/h
26.5 ° 3 km/h
22.4 ° 4 km/h
25.6 ° 14 km/h
28.5 ° 16 km/h
29.1 ° 12 km/h
30 ° 3 km/h


20 ° 12 km/h
24.9 ° 5 km/h
17.5 ° 14 km/h
22.7 ° 16 km/h
27.5 ° 17 km/h
28.2 ° 14 km/h
29.5 ° 5 km/h

Women’s water polo: preview and statistics

0 0

Although Budapest and Balatonfured host the 17th FINA World Chamionships, only the 13th women’s water polo tournament will start at 16 of July, because women got the chance to participate in the FINA World Championships in 1986. Defending champion is the United States, it will be very difficult to beat them.

Women’s water polo is extremely unpredictable results of the last World Championships show it clearly: at each of the last two World Championships (2013 and 2015) the top three was composed of entirely different teams compared to the previous edition. Or in 2011, the finalists had not won a medal in 2009, as Russia repeated as bronze medallists.

The last team to reach the final at back-to-back World Championships was the United States, who repeated as champions in 2009. This marked the fourth final in a row for Team USA. They would not reach the final again until 2015, when they emerged victorious against Netherlands in the gold medal match. United States (2007 and 2009) and Italy (1998 and 2001) are the only teams that have retained their world title in this competition, American ladies have won four world titles, two more than any other team in the history of the competition.

Photo: Máté Balogh/Bp2017 Média

In 2015, they became the first reigning Olympic champions to win the world title and one year later they became the first reigning world champions to triumph at the Olympic Games. Three American players have won a record three world championship titles: Heather Petri (USA), Brenda Villa (USA) and Kami Craig (USA).

Two years ago, United States won behind a roster averaging 22 years and 239 days, the youngest ever to win a world title in women's water polo. The team included 17-year-old Maddie Musselman (USA), who at 17-052 became the youngest individual player to win a world championship. Musselman returns in a bid to retain the title as well as teammates Rachel Fattal, Makenzie Fischer, Kiley Neushul, Maggie Steffens and Melissa Seidemann.

Netherlands won a medal in each of their first appearances in this tournament (1986-1998) and then it took them until 2015 to return to the podium (silver medal).

Italy won a medal in each of their first appearances in this tournament (1994-2003) and then it took them until 2015 to return to the podium (bronze medal). Canada (G0-S2-B2) and Russia (G0-S0-B4) have won most medals in this competition without ever winning the trophy: four.

Canadian ladies during their first training in the comptetition venue

Brazil (11) and New Zealand (10) have made most World Championship appearances without ever claiming a medal.

All seven countries that won the world title in women's water polo will be present in the tournament in Budapest.

Hosts Hungary won the world title twice, in 1994 and 2005. They join United States (4) and Italy (2) as the only countries that have won multiple world titles.


Programme of the women’s water polo tournament:

16 of July, Sunday:

W1         9:30: Italy-Canada
W2         10:50: Brazil-China
W3         12:10: New Zealand-Spain
W4         13:30: South Africa-United States
W6         17:30: Netherlands-France
W7         18:50: Australia-Kazakhstan
W5         20:10: Japan-Hungary
W8         21:30: Russia-Greece

18 of July, Thuesday:

W9         9:30: United States-Spain
W10      10:50: New Zealand-South Africa
W12      12:10: Japan-Netherlands
W13      13:30: Greece-Kazakhstan
W14      17:30: Australia-Russia
W15      18:50: China-Canada
W11      20:10: France-Hungary
W16      21:30: Italy-Brazil

Július 20., Thursday:

W17      9:30: Japan-France
W19      10:50: Australia-Greece
W20      12:10: Russia-Kazakhstan
W21      13:30: Italy-China
W22      17:30: Brazil-Canada
W23      18:50: New Zealand-United States
W18      20:10: Netherlands-Hungary
W24      21:30: South Africa-Spain

22 of July, Saturday:

13th-16th place semifinals

M25       10:30: A4-B4
M26       12:00: C4-D4


M27       13:30: A2-B3
M28       15:00: A3-B2
M29       20:30: C2-D3
M30       22:00 C3–D2

24 of July, Monday:

For 15th place:

M31       09:30: Loser of M25 - Loser of M26

For 13th place:

M32       10:50: Winner of M25 - Winner of M26

9th-12th place semifinals

M33       12:10: Loser of M27 - Loser of M29
M34       13:30: Loser of M28 - Loser of M30


M35       14:50: A1– C2/D3 (M29)
M36       16:10: B1– C3/D2 (M30)
M37       20:30: C1– A2/B3 (M27)
M38       22:00: D1– A3–B2 (M28)

26 of July, Wednesday:

For 11th place:

M39       10:30: Loser of M33 - Loser of M34

For 9th place:

M40       12:00: Winner of M33 - Winner of M34

5th-8th place semifinals:

M41       13:30: Loser of M35 - Loser of M36
M42       15:00: Loser of M37 - Loser of M38


M43       20:30: Winner of A1 - C2/D3 (M35) - Winner of B1 - C3/D2 (M36)
M44       22:00: Winner of C1 - A2/B3 (M37) - Winner of D1 - A3/B2 (M38)

29 of July, Saturday:

For 7th place:

M45       12:00: Loser of M41 - Loser of M42

For 5th place:

M46       13:30: Winner of M41 - Winner of M42

For 3rd place:

M47       15:00: Winner of M43 - Winner of M44  


M48       20:30: Winner of M43 - Winner of M44