Results | Info-feed | Closing ceremony
The official hotline of the World Championships is available: +36/1-90-70-500

Preview: Open Water Swimming

0 0

Upcoming events

Minute by minute

Team USA won in men's 4x100m medley relay

Team USA won in women's 4x100m medley relay

HOSSZÚ Katinka (HUN) won in women's 400m IM

LACOURT Camille (FRA) won in men's 50m backstroke

SJOSTROM Sarah (SWE) won in women's 50m freestyle

KALISZ Chase (USA) won in men's 400m IM

KING Lilly (USA) won in women's 50m breaststroke

Men's High diving results: 1. Steve Lo Bue (USA) 397.15 2. Michal Navratil (CZE) 390.90 3. Alessandro De Rose (ITA) 379.65

LEDECKY Katie (USA) won in women's 800m freestyle

SJOSTROM Sarah (SWE) just broke the World Record in women's 50m freestyle semi-final



Tickets are available for more than 200 events! Get yours and don't miss your favourite athlets competing!

Buy a ticket


13.9 ° 18 km/h
13.5 ° 18 km/h
16 ° 8 km/h
15.1 ° 19 km/h
15.9 ° 17 km/h
18.5 ° 3 km/h
17.3 ° 14 km/h


13.3 ° 19 km/h
16.5 ° 25 km/h
13.4 ° 16 km/h
16.4 ° 22 km/h
17.2 ° 16 km/h
14.6 ° 2 km/h
17.1 ° 21 km/h

Key facts about the OWS competition

The 17th FINA World Championship’s open water swimming competition will start in Balatonfüred with the men’s 5 km race on Saturday, 15 July, followed by the women’s 10 km contest on Sunday. After the rest day on Monday the men’s 10 km event will be held on Tuesday, the women’s 5 km on Wednesday, the team relay competition on Thursday and the 25 km on Friday.


Swimmers had the opportunity to qualify for the FINA World Championships based on the criteria determined by the national federations. Every nation can be represented by two athletes in each individual competition and by one team in the team event.


·   Since 2011 Germany (2013) and United States (2015) have been the only countries to have won multiple gold medals in open water swimming at a single edition of the FINA World Championships.

·   Germany (total 4), United States (4) and Brazil (3) are the only countries to have won a gold medal at each of those last three world championships.

·   The last country to claim more than two world titles in open water swimming at a single edition of the FINA World Championships was Germany in 2009 (3).

·   Germany (11) could equal or surpass Russia (12) for a record number of world titles in open water swimming.

·   The last Russian gold medals came back in 2007 when they won four. At the following four world championships (2009-2015) Germany won seven world titles.

·   Italy and United States follow in joint-third place for most gold medals in open water swimming with nine world titles each.

·   Germany (36) have claimed most total medals in open water swimming events, ahead of Russia (30), Italy (24) and United States (20).

·   Host Hungary (4, S2-B2) is the country with most medals in open water swimming without winning a single gold one.

·   Both of the reigning Olympic champions are Dutch as Sharon van Rouwendaal (NED) won the women's 10km event in Rio de Janeiro and Ferry Weertman (NED) the men's 10km. Both swimmers claimed the silver medal in the 10km event at the world championships in 2015.

·   Netherlands last won a gold medal at the world championships in 2005: Edith van Dijk, 10km and 25km women.

·   Only Thomas Lurz (GER, 13), Edith van Dijk (NED, 9), Angela Maurer (GER, 8) and Spyridon Gianniotis (GRE, 7) have claimed more medals in open water swimming at the world championships than Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA, 6, G2-S2-B2).

·   Four of the six world champions in the individual events in 2015 won their first world title, with the exception of Cunha and Haley Anderson (USA).

·   Anderson (women's 5km) and Cunha (women's 25km) could become the first female swimmers to win a specific individual event three times at the FINA World Championships. On the men's side this has been done by Thomas Lurz (men's 5km, 4 times) and Yury Kudinov (RUS, men's 25km, 3 times).

·   Anderson could join Lurz as the only swimmers (male/female) to have done this at three consecutive world championships. Lurz won gold in the men's 5km from 2005-2011 (4 successive times).