Tickets are now available! Click here to get your own ticket!

Upcoming events

Minute by minute


Tickets are available for more than 200 events! Get yours and don't miss your favourite athlets competing!

Buy a ticket


12.6 ° 8 km/h
13.1 ° 16 km/h
12.7 ° 20 km/h
11.9 ° 14 km/h
11.4 ° 12 km/h
10.9 ° 20 km/h
9.9 ° 17 km/h


11.7 ° 13 km/h
12.2 ° 21 km/h
11.4 ° 19 km/h
12.3 ° 17 km/h
12.8 ° 13 km/h
10.9 ° 34 km/h
10.8 ° 17 km/h

Record-holders of the last 20 years at the FINA World Championships

0 0

Some athletes have announced their retirements recently, but many of those who have already taken part in at least three FINA World Championships, will enter the 2017 WCH in Budapest and Balatonfüred as well. This summary shows who are the record-holders relating to the number of participations and medals.

Winner of the women’s 10m platform at the 2015 FINA World Championships Kim Kuk-hyang was two years old at the time of the 2001 World Championships, when 14 athletes, who were still competing in 2016, already participated at the 2001 event in Fukuoka.

Divers Wu Minxia, Tania Cagnotto, Paolo Espinosa and Troy Dumais have taken part in eight FINA WCH in total, like swimmers Therese Alshammar, Lars Frölander, Hanna-Maria Seppälä, Spyridon Gianniotis, Igor Chervinsky and Angela Maurer (the latter three have also been competing in open water), water polo players Antigoni Roumpesi and Tony Azevedo, as well as synchronised swimmers  Sona Bernardová and Violeta Mitinian.

Some of these stars have announced their retirements recently, but hopefully their will be many of them who will enter the 2017 FINA World Championships as well. 

Regarding the number of medals Michael Phelps seems to be unbeatable: the Baltimore Bullet, who have taken part in six FINA World Championships, has won 33 medals. Compatriot Ryan Lochte has won 27, Russian synchronised swimmer queens Svetlana Romashina and Natalia Ishchenko 22, Gemma Mengual and Ona Carbonell 20 medals at the World Championships so far.

Phelps leads the way in the gold winners’ ranking, too: he is a 26-time world champion. Romashina (22), Ishchenko (20) and Lochte (18) are also among the most successful participants in the history of the world championships.